Crazy! Hot! And Living On The Edge!! by Shirley Harris-Slaughter Blog Tour

I want to thank my host for such warm hospitality and support. Thank you 4Wills Publishing for putting this all together.

From the Author of…

Crazy! Hot! And Living On The Edge!!

The term “Hot” as in the title of this book refers to many things. But it came from the extreme change-of-life symptoms I started having. It all stemmed from making the decision to have a partial hysterectomy brought on by a fibroid tumor the size of an orange. I was in my early thirties when I had the procedure and over time I started having early symptoms. If I got excited about anything I would have a heat wave come over me. My life became very uncomfortable and unbearable along with a very unstable ability to control my emotions. All kinds of physical ailments started to manifest itself into my life. I had no idea what was happening to me and I didn’t have time to figure it all out until it stopped me cold.
All the while I was trying to raise a child and, after remarrying, taking care of my new husband.

SHS1

Shirley Harris-Slaughter

BOOK EXCERPT:

Because of my depleted hormones another challenge had swept into my life like a thief in the night. Hot Flashes. No, make that Extreme Hot Flashes! They’re an intense sensation that grip women in their mid-life years and makes them feel as if they are living in the bowels of a burning furnace. I’m not kidding; it’s that bad and I’m sure a lot of women reading this can relate to what the doctor did next. She asked me to watch a video about menopause, then she gave me a well-known drug that begins with a P. That’s right! She prescribed Premarin!
Contributing to my state of agitation was the fact that I felt I did not have anyone to turn to for old-fashioned, woman to woman advice. My mother died before I could get answers from her, and my mother-in-law didn’t have anything to offer when I consulted with her. I was on my own.
The side effects from the oral prescription of Premarin gave me problems. Therefore, the doctor wrote another prescription — for a patch. I thought that it would improve my condition, however, that was not the case . . . I started breaking out from the glue on the patch. So, I had no choice but to stop taking that!
Finally, the doctors could do nothing more for me, and I became sicker and sicker. The hot flashes got worse—leading to severe “night sweats.” If I pulled the covers on, I had to take them off about 15 minutes to a half hour later. If I turned the heat down . . . my husband turned it up.
One time, I was in the bedroom fanning myself when my hubby approached me, and I said, “Honey it feels like hot air is blowing all over me!” He laughed at the expression on my face, and this exchange lowered my stress level somewhat. Humor does have its rewards! I wanted that heat “off” and he was “freezing.” And so it went like that for some time…

JUST PUBLISHED Link
THREE REVIEWS

Crazy!_Hot!_And_Livi_Cover_for_Kindle

 

PURCHASE LINKS:


CRAZY! HOT! AND LIVING ON THE EDGE!!

AMAZON

OUR LADY OF VICTORY, THE SAGA OF AN AFRICAN AMERICAN CATHOLIC COMMUNITY
AMAZON

CONNECT:
Email Address: sharrislaughter@gmail.com
Author Facebook Page / Twitter / Blog

Leave a comment at each stop (including this one) and get your name entered that number of times into a random drawing for:

1st Prize: $15 Amazon Gift Card
2nd Prize: Autographed copy of “Crazy! Hot! and Living On The Edge!!”

Tour banner - 4Wills

18 thoughts on “Crazy! Hot! And Living On The Edge!! by Shirley Harris-Slaughter Blog Tour

    • Shirley Harris-Slaughter says:

      Hi John, I was that 1% that the doctors had no answers for. It was so disappointing to learn how ill-equipped the medical establishment is when it comes to female related issues and the majority of them are male. Rather than trying to help me most doctors chose to leave me alone to fend for myself. Its scary out here.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Always a pleasure 🙂 I actually have the perfect profile pic to go with your story – someone sent it to me the other day, so funny yet so true – and now I know why. The universe works in mysterious ways.
      I’ll mail the pic to you and you can let me know what you think 😉

      xxx

      Like

      • Shirley Harris-Slaughter says:

        How nice! I can’t wait to get them. You are so right, we are one with the universe. I talk about this a lot when I do speeches because of how I came to write my first book.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Shirley, I like the last part about humor! So true. 🙂 Age old fight couple have (me included) with the temperature in the house. But in all seriousness, what a struggle! You are a trooper. xoxo
    Great to see your site Sterna.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shirley Harris-Slaughter says:

    Hi Joy! You couldn’t wait to start reading could you? I like that.

    Jenny nature has not been easy on me. I wondered why me? I did know that if I didn’t find out what was wrong with me I would be dead. That’s how serious it was and I was beside myself with fear. Thanks for reblogging this. Its going to get a lot of traction.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. harmonykentonline says:

    Shirley, I am so enjoying your tour, and hope you are too! Best of luck with everything 🙂

    Sterna, thanks for hosting Shirley today 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

