A special dedication – You can do it … right?

But do you still want to?

As new age moms, most of us are doing the balancing act, and some of us have become pro’s at it – I know I use to be (most of the time anyway) – I had a thriving career, still studied, mom, wife, family, friends, dogs and then still found time to write and bake for everyone, catch up on my series’ and spend weekends at the dam or riding off-road with hubby and sons.
But now, looking back, I realize that the smallest thing that went wrong; like forgetting to sign a permission slip on time, or a sport date or information for a task or an oral, would send me into a frenzy and everything would come crashing down. And I’d have to gather myself (pull myself towards myself as we use to joke) pick everything up and start it all again, because you can’t stop … you just can’t.

There are people who can go to work, clock in, do just what they are supposed to, clock out and leave it all there … I’ve never been able to do that! I live for the job, 24/7, so maybe the fault actually lies with me and not the amount of things I’m juggling?

Today was the first time in three years that I have taken my kids to school, and not FJ (my husband), and I loved it!
Yeah the traffic is not so great at that time, and you spend most of it in 1st gear staring out the window, but to me it was something new and something that I have not been able to do in a very long time.
I have officially been out of the ‘office life’ for almost a month, where I worked from seven to five (if I was lucky) every day, and it’s been bliss!
The first week was rough, and I thought I might panic a few times, wondering what the hell I was doing, I was built for the corporate word, right? That’s why I was good at it!
But thanks to some encouraging words from friends and family, and the amazing support of FJ (which came in the form of putting his foot down and telling me that I was NOT going back to an office job! It would mean side tracking my writing and other creative outlets and incomes again and worst, it would mean losing the special time I now had with the kids every afternoon)
So I got over, very quickly, and have not looked back!

This morning, as I watched some of the parents in their work wear, while I was sporting my favorite jeans and pumps, I thought again of the years I spent running around in that rat race, juggling – I enjoyed it, I lived for it, but I am glad that it’s over now and that I have moved on to an even more exciting chapter in my life, and I am so blessed to have the chance to get extra involved with my boys after school activities, homework and just life in general while they are still young.

I’ve noticed small changes in myself as I’ve settled into my ‘new job’ – we turned our would-be baby room into an office, complete with a custom-built desk from my super handy hubby, and I’ve jumped right in to the sometimes scary and overwhelming world of full-time writing and free lancing – I’m so much more relaxed and a lot less high-strung, which if you know me, is quite a big change! I’m even a less aggressive driver now (my kids noticed first) #whoopwhoop!
And I have to put it down to not being under that amount of stress all the time, dealing with people you have no time or respect for but not having a choice because it’s your job, even if I performed at my best under pressure, it was slowly destroying a little part of me every day, and I never realized until now.

So now that I know there is this new way for me to have it all, would I ever be able to go back? You can do it right? … but more importantly, would I want to?

And I as thought about all of that while sitting in traffic, I thought of my ‘previous life’, as we now refer to it, and I thought of the work and the pressure and the people and just everything, and I realized I wouldn’t change a thing! I learned so much, and loved it so much, and made some amazing lifelong friends along the way!

So today I dedicate this post to my (ex)comrades in the high pressure, very entertaining procurement department I use to manage – where dealing with stress and stupidity became an everyday occurrence and a frustration we needed to find and outlet for … and boy did we ever!
From having nick-names for some, and phrases for others, to inventing a standard response line for some things and learning to swear and throw a tantrum in your mind with a smile on your face … and then of course to drink wine … because a large glass of wine at the end of the day can fix almost anything, that and having a real friend to share it all with.
This is some of the funnies we have shared … I hope you enjoy them as much as we did, they were a smile in the middle of the crappy day, or a giggle when you felt like screaming and crying …

‎​‎​‎​‎​‎​‎​owlsIMG_25102013_120628$arcasmIMG-20140904-WA0000IMG_330116449995762IMG_1480674216513630bitchsarcasticsome peopleIMG_1391091324402496IMG_20140807_142204nerves.IMG_20140901_205926♥̸̸̸̸̸̸̨̨̨̨͡♍åŊđÎƐ♥̸̸̸̸̸̸̨̨̨̨͡IMG_20130927_001169fshipsBD1IMG-20140913-WA0000 (1)

Thank you for the things I learnt and the amazing friends I made that not only got me through those tough days, but also shared everything with me, every step of the way to this new exciting chapter! You will always be a part of my life!

If you use to, or are still part of the ‘office life’ and a have some funnies to share, please do!

5 thoughts on “A special dedication – You can do it … right?

  1. …a situation that most of us dream about…enjoy the time to be creative, expressive and working on your own time, following your own deadlines and having time to breath, smell the roses and be with the kids whilst they are growing up….

    Like

  2. Jenna Duvenage says:

    Absolutely brilliant my special friend aka ex comrade! !:) so happy for you and you deserve every bit of happiness in your new chapter / season in your life! !! Xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

