How did I pass English again…?

I don’t know how many of you out there, like me, read and re-read every mail, text, IM, tweet, post, etc before you dare hit that send button…and then still find DAMN AUTO CORRECT or just ‘WTF English’ faults after it has been sent…

…and then it’s too late! Way, way too late!
And all you can do is groan, shake your head with embarrassment and promise yourself that it will never happen again…
…right. Whatever.


I edited (or tried to at least) my book this past weekend, and can’t tell you how many times I almost cried and had to get up to re-fill my glass, just to try and move past it. I was mortified!

…so I sent out a tweet (and those who know me personally, would realize what a big step this was for the insecure, unsure little wanne-be author inside me)…

Tweet: Am I allowed to say that trying to (sort of) edit and proof read my own work is just useless!?…how did I pass English again?? #amwriting
…and then held my breath – and the response was just great!

I AM NOT ALONE!! Whoop whoop!

 

So the insecure, unsure little wanne-be author puckered up, gave herself a pat on the back and a pep talk, and plowed on…with the reassuring new knowledge that I was not as alone in this scary process as I thought.

 

Sure I’m probably still going to be sending messages just to find the mistakes after words (DAMN AUTO CORRECT) but at least I know it happens to the best of us!

So here wishing you all a successful message week – may every work you send out be perfect and untouched by those grammar bugs that just love to send us into a panic.

 

If you have any funny / hilarious stories about your own little blunders, that you have made enough peace with to share – PLS SHARE!

Cheers

xxx

 

Leave a Reply

